Josh Oberman

Goetz Fitzpatrick LLP

One Penn Plaza
New York, NY 10119
(212) 695-8100
Contact Us

View Bio

Barry Shabashkevich

Vice President
QBE North America

55 Water Street – 20th Floor
New York, NY 10041
Contact Us

View Bio

Christopher Kelly, CPA

Anchin, Block & Anchin LLP Accountants and Advisors

1375 Broadway
New York, NY 10018
Contact Us

View Bio

Kevin Stoddard

Chubb Limited

150 Allen Road, Suite 203
Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Contact Us

View Bio

Board of Directors Bios:

Josh Oberman (President)

Josh Oberman is a Partner at Goetz Fitzpatrick, whose practice focuses exclusively in the construction industry.

He focuses on representing general contractors, construction managers, subcontractors, developers, and building owners. Josh has extensive experience drafting and negotiating high-value construction contracts between contractors and the largest construction managers and building owners in New York. He has litigated countless complex commercial construction disputes in New York State and Federal courts.

Josh has vast experience representing contractors in Surety Bond Claims and disputes regarding Project Labor Agreements. He routinely represents construction clients in large disputes stemming from public works projects with the City and State of New York and its various public agencies. Over the course of his career, he has also represented the federal government and Fortune 500 companies.

Josh is on the Board of Directors of the New York City Surety Association, and the New York City Chapter of the Construction Financial Management Association. He also serves as a chairman of the Committee on Roundtable Discussion Panels for the Construction Financial Management Association. Josh is a member of the American and New York State Bar Associations, and the New York County Lawyers’ Association.

Barry Shabashkevich (Vice President)
Barry graduated from the University of Hartford with a B.S. in Business Management in 2005.  He began his surety career in 2005 with Colonial Surety Company as a field underwriter for the NYC region.  After Colonial Surety Barry has worked as a contract surety underwriter for Liberty Mutual Surety, CNA Surety, and currently at QBE Surety managing the New York City region.  Barry’s background has maintained a focus on contract surety ranging from small privately held contractors to jumbo national and international contractors.  Barry is active in the NYC Surety Association, NJ Surety Association, and The Construction Financial Management Association (CFMA).  Barry is originally from Brooklyn, NY, grew up in Northern NJ, and currently resides in Hoboken, NJ.

Christopher Kelly (Treasurer)
Chris is an experienced CPA that advises contractors, developers and real estate owners in the NYC region on their business, accounting and tax matters as a Partner at Anchin, Block & Anchin LLP.  With an extensive background in tax matters for corporations, partnerships and individuals, as well as financial reporting, Chris works with his clients to ensure tax, business, ownership and surety strategies align.

Chris is a native of the Philadelphia area and a graduate of York College of Pennsylvania.  He is also an active member of the CFMA and AGC.

Kevin Stoddard (Secretary)

Kevin Stoddard graduated from Quinnipiac University in 2013 with a B.S. in Accounting and a minor in Finance. While attending Quinnipiac, Kevin also served as President of the University’s Beta Alpha Psi Accounting Honors Society and was part of the Dean’s Student Leaders Board. Kevin began his career at Chubb Limited working within the organization’s accounting department before accepting a surety underwriting trainee position within the NYC territory in 2015. Today, Kevin maintains a focus on both middle market as well as national/international large contractors. Kevin is active in the NYC Surety Association, NJ Surety Association, Utility and Transportation Contractor’s Association of NJ, and The Construction Financial Management Association. Kevin is also an AFSB designation holder and currently resides in Lopatcong, NJ.

Past Presidents:

Matt Murphy (2017);
Michael O”Connell (2016);
Eric Stickle (2015);
Kevin Walsh (2014);
Mike Marino (2013);
Joe Damiano (2012);
Scott Bourdon (2011);
Mike Fleming (2010);
Chris Temeles (2009);
Michael Sheelen (2008);
Joe Cieri (2007);
Kimberly Ostrin (2006)
Anthony Panno
Bob Haarsgaard
Joe Mallory
Brendan Schreiber
John Ventura